Ab Ki Baar, KKR! Kolkata franchise wins third IPL title after crushing Sunrisers Hyderabad

Venkatesh Iyer was on strike and the Kolkata Knight Riders dugout was standing as they were just one run away from a thumping eight-wicket victory in the 2024 Indian Premier League (IPL) final. The southpaw swept for a single and sparked wild celebrations in the KKR camp.

IPL 2024 Final: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad – STRONG POINTS

The entire team rushed out to celebrate with the two Iyers – Venkatesh and Shreyas – and the owners were happy in the stands as the wait for an IPL title finally ended. The cameras kept looking for mentor Gautam Gambhir who was busy giving hugs to the entire team and had a big smile on his face. The DJ quickly moved on to Chak De India and the party began for the Kolkata Knight Riders – the IPL 2024 champions.

The IPL final has often been a repeat of Qualifier 1 and the title clash of the 2024 edition was no different. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have been the two most consistent teams in the league stages, but the playoffs are a different beast.

Even the best in the business have struggled to dominate the knockout stages, and SRH have certainly faced heat from KKR this year. Not once, but twice after Qualifier 1, they were foiled by Shreyas Iyer & Co. in what turned out to be the most lopsided final in IPL history.

SRH simply didn't have enough runs on the board and became the first team to get bowled out in the final, that too without facing 20 overs. 113 – SRH's third lowest total in the IPL and lowest total in an IPL final – was never going to pose a challenge to this KKR unit and mere formalities had to be completed in the second innings of the match .

There was a consolation wicket of Sunil Narine early in the innings, but just one-way traffic after that as Venkatesh Iyer and Rahmanullah Gurbaz put on 91 runs in record time to put the team in the last over RIGHT.

IPL 2024 Final, KKR vs SRH: Kolkata Knight Riders beat Sunrisers Hyderabad (BCCI)

Bowling Master Class

Batting, however, was never going to be a topic of discussion today as the evening was hosted by the bowlers. KKR served up a bowling masterclass in the title clash and Mitchell Starc, the most expensive player in the league's history, led from the front with a probing spell that put SRH on the carpet.

Even before throwing his first pitch, the snitch was in the opposition's head as Travis Head decided not to strike. Starc had dismissed him the last time two teams met in Qualifier 1 and now it was youngster Abhishek Sharma in the firing line.

From the first throw, there was enough movement and the fifth ball that came out of the left armer's hand was a ripper! Tossed at length, it went away late and crashed against the stumps.

Abhishek was shocked and the SRH dugout had a worried look on his face as the celebrations began in the KKR camp. In consecutive matches now, KKR have clipped the wings of the high-flying SRH openers and never allowed their innings to gain any momentum.

Head stayed away from the strike against Starc but was dismissed for a golden duck by Vaibhav Arora at the other end. Rahul Tripathi came and went, and the batters to follow had no answer to KKR's seamer all-rounders. If Starc moved them at a brisk pace, Arora had a nice natural angle in the right-hander and Harshit Rana mixed his pace intelligently.

There was just a respite from both ends and even when the seamers got a break, Andre Russell and the twins – Varun Chakravarthy and Sunil Narine – kept the pressure on in the middle.

Pat Cummins & Co. continued to lose wickets at regular intervals and never had a partnership. This was only the second time in the IPL that six different bowlers picked a wicket. That's how good KKR were in the title clash.

best videos

See everything

  • Sumona Chakravarti on participating in KKK 14 after Kapil Sharma's show, fitness and more | Watch

  • Priyanka Chopra Jonas flaunts a new look while posing with Anne Hathaway in Rome at a Bvlgari event

  • Shilpa Shinde on her comeback with KKK 14, not getting good scripts and people's perception about her

  • Bella Hadid, Diane Kruger, Coco Rocha and Rawdah Mohamed turn heads with their style at Cannes 2024

  • Kiara Advani, Sobhita Dhulipala and Urvashi Rautela bring unparalleled fashion prowess to Cannes 2024

  • Sahil Malhotra

    Report all things cricket for CNN-News18 CricketNext & have an extensive handle

    first publication: May 26, 2024, 10:37 p.m. IST

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *