Bengaluru and Chennai to host India vs South Africa women's all-format series

The ODIs will be played first in Bengaluru, followed by the Test and T20Is in Chennai.

India won both of their home Tests – against Australia and England – late last year Getty Images

South Africa's all-format women's tour of India will begin with a three-match ODI series, then move to the one-off Test and conclude with the three T20Is. The ODIs, along with a one-day warm-up match for the visiting team against the Board Chairman's XI team, will be played in Bengaluru, while the rest of the matches will be played in Chennai.

As reported by ESPNcricinfo earlier sequence – with T20Is being played at the end – aims to ensure continuity of formats ahead of the T20 World Cup, which will be held in Bangladesh in September-October.

After the warm-up match on June 13, the ODIs will be played on June 16, 19 and 23; the test will take place from June 28 to July 1; the T20Is will be played on July 5, 7 and 9.

Spot testing was not originally part of the ICC FTP. It has been added since the BCCI and CSA have both tried to promote women's Tests in recent times. This will be India's third Test in seven months, having faced England and Australia in December last year, both at home.

South Africa, meanwhile, ended its eight-year hiatus from the format in England in June 2022 and then faced Australia in February in Perth.

More recently, the BCCI has also reintroduced a red ball tournament in the women's national calendar, hosting an interzonal competition – of five matches in total. The last time the BCCI organized a red-ball tournament for its women cricketers was in 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *