CSK, RR break silence after Ravindra Jadeja says they obstructed the field: 'If the ball touches your body…'


On Sunday, in Chennai Super Kings' home match against Rajasthan Royals, only for the third time in the history of initial loadinga batter was dealt, obstruct the ground. Ravindra Jadeja joined a rare list including Yusuf Pathan and Amit Mishra who, unfortunately, were given out when he interfered with a throw aimed at Sanju Samson's stumps. The decision was referred to the third umpire, and after some deliberation, Anil Chaudhary signaled 'out' on the giant screen, leaving Jadeja miffed.

Ravindra Jadeja, dejected, returns after being delivered (AFP)

The CSK all-rounder clarified his doubts to the umpire, but to no avail. Fortunately, the dismissal did not come back to haunt CSK, who outscored RR by five wickets to keep their playoff chances alive. However, this sparked a debate over whether Jadeja was indeed out, with both franchises reacting to it. According to the rules, MCC Law 37.1 states that “either the batter is obstructing the field if, while the ball is in play, he deliberately attempts to obstruct or distract the field by words or actions “.

Unlock exclusive access to the latest news on India's general elections, only on the HT app. Download now! Download now!

CSK batting coach Michael Hussey believes the decision could have gone either way. After opting for a second run, Jadeja was halfway through the middle of the field when he decided to run back. However, in doing so, Jadeja, from the far left, changed her running path and placed herself directly in the path of Samson's throw. The ball hit Jadeja, bringing the obstruction part into play, but as it changed the angle at one point of the ball carrier, Hussey understands why the right decision was made.

Unlock exclusive access to the latest Indian general election news, only on the HT app. Download now! Download now!

“I didn't look at him closely. He tried to turn around, so he changed his angle a little bit. But he didn't change his angle while running straight. I can see both sides of “I can understand the story. It's the referee who makes the decision. The rule says you can't change your line, so maybe it was a fair decision,” he said afterwards. the game.

Sangakkara speaks

Hussey's counterpart, Kumar Sangakkara, was confident and satisfied with the referee's decision. The former Sri Lanka captain pointed out that the deciding factor in the dismissal turned out to be Jadeja's change of angle as he decided to come home. Had Jadeja maintained his trajectory while coming back for the run, Sangakkara says it wouldn't have made a difference, but since the CSK all-rounder did otherwise and blocked a possible run-out, there was no way he could have not having done it. been distributed. No one knew if Samson's shot would have hit the stumps, but whatever could be said about the throw, it seemed pretty flat and accurate.

“The law says that if a batter changes direction and interferes with the throw, it is considered obstruction. The rule was changed for the same reason a few years ago. Even if you (run) down the middle, and if the ball touches your body, it is considered out If he (Jadeja) had run straight to the side where he stopped, it would not have been a problem at all,” Sangakkara said.

Are you a cricket enthusiast? Take part in the HT Cricket Quiz daily and get a chance to win an iPhone 15 and Boat smartwatch. Click here to participate now.

Stay up to date with the latest Cricket News, CSK vs RR live score, RCB vs DC Live Score, IPL Points Table match highlights, and more. Explore a complete cricket schedule, follow the race for the Purple cap And Orange IPL Cap In IPL2024check Virat Kohli performance and stay ahead with all cricket related updates on the Hindustan Times website and app.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *