Gautam Gambhir's 3-word message brilliantly sums up KKR's IPL 2024 triumph

Guatam Gambhir with Shah Rukh Khan after KKR's IPL 2024 triumph© X (Twitter)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 ended with Kolkata Knight Riders emerging as the deserved winners. In Sunday's summit clash, the Knight Riders left little room for improvement, producing a terrific all-round performance to decimate Sunrisers Hyderabad. With the title triumph, KKR ended their 10-year wait for the IPL title, having last tasted success in 2014 under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. The former Indian opener's return to the franchise as a mentor transformed their fortunes. After the conclusion of the finale, Gambhir shared a 3-word message summarizing his state of mind.

Taking to social media, Gambhir wrote: “Dare to dream”, highlighting the power of protest as the Knight Riders ended their long trophy drought.

As for the match, the Australian leader Mitchell Starc bowled a sensational opening spell to propel his team to an 8-wicket victory in the summit clash. Kolkata beat Hyderabad for the IPL's lowest total of 113 in a final over as Australian left-arm quick Starc returned figures of 2-14 to live up to his maiden berth in the T20 tournament the most lucrative in the world.

Starc went to Kolkata for a record $2.98 million in the December auction and finished the IPL with two stellar performances, including a 3-34 win in the first play-off to hammer the same opponent.

The Calcutta batsmen had it easy and despite Sunil Narineearly departure, Rahmanullah Gurbazwho made 39, and Venkatesh Iyeron 52 not out, helped the team get home with 9.3 overs to spare after a partnership of 91.

Iyer, a left-handed batsman, reached his 50 in 24 balls and hit the winning runs to spark celebrations for Kolkata, who remained the more dominant team after finishing on top of the table with 20 points in the league stage.

Skipper Shreyas Iyer was unbeaten on six occasions, and at the other end, when the Calcutta players rushed onto the field and the stadium fireworks erupted.

Players and national teams now advance to the T20 World Cup from June 1 in the West Indies and the United States.

With AFP inputs

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *