How does Pakistan Super League prize money compare to WPL and IPL

Shadab Khan, MS Dhoni and Smriti Mandhana©AFP | BCCI | BCCI

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2024 concluded with Islamabad United winning the title for a “record” third time in the history of the league. The moment of joy for the franchise came just a day after Royal Challengers Bangalore won the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 title, for the first time in their history. While the two T20 leagues are over, the mammoth Indian Premier League (IPL) is about to begin, with its 17th campaign kicking off on March 22.

Islamabad United, who won the PSL 2024 title, won prize money of 14,00,00,000 Pakistani Rupees (INR 4.13 crores approx) while runners-up Multan Sultans bagged a sum of 5,60,00,000 Rs PKR (INR 1.65 crore). approximately).

As for the IPL, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) bagged a huge prize money of a whopping Rs 20 crore for winning the IPL 2023 campaign. Gujarat Titans, who were beaten in the final, bagged Rs 13 crore last season.

In the WPL 2024, RCB received a prize money of Rs 6 crore for winning the title while WPL 2024 runners-up Delhi Capitals won Rs 3 crore as prize money.

IPL 2023:

  • Winners: Chennai Super Kings (INR 20 crore)
  • Runner-up: Gujarat Titans (INR 13 crore)

WPL 2024:

  • Winners: Royal Challengers Bangalore (INR 6 crore)
  • Runner-up: Delhi Capitals (INR 3 crore)


  • Winners: Islamabad United (INR 4.13 crores)
  • Runner-up: Multan Sultans (INR 1.65 crore)

As the numbers show, the Indian Premier League is way ahead of the rest. Although the Pakistan Super League is considered a lucrative league, it is not as financially evolved as the Women’s Premier League.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is the richest cricket body in the world and hence the finances involved in the IPL and WPL are way ahead of their counterparts.

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *