IPL 2024 Purple Cap Update: Jasprit Bumrah still on top of the table after CSK vs PBKS | IPL News

IPL 2024 Most Wickets, Purple Cap Stand: There was no change in the tally of the top five wicket-takers of IPL 2024 after the CSK vs PBKS match on Wednesday. Mumbai Indians spearhead Jasprit Bumrah remained at the top of the rankings with 14 scalps in 10 matches.

Mustafizur Rahman, participating in the match against Punjab, remained wicketless and remained second while Matheesha Pathirana, who did not play on Wednesday, is fourth in the total.

Sunrisers Hyderabad's T Natarajan occupied the 5th position after his 1 wicket against the Super Kings of Chennai on Sunday.

In the meantime, Kings of Punjab crimper Harshal Patel moved to the third position of the Purple cap ranking with one wicket against the Horsemen Knights of Calcutta at Eden Gardens on Friday.

IPL 2024 Purple Cap table updated today

No. Player M Ins Ovs Works Weeks BBI Avg. Economic RS 4w/5w

Jasprit Bumrah

ten ten 40:00 256 14 21/5 6:28 p.m. 6:40 a.m. 17.14 0/1
2 9 9 34.2 318 14 29/4 22.71 9.26 14.71 1/0

Harshal Patel

9 9 32.0 326 14 3/15 23.28 10.18 13.71 0/0
4 6 6 22.0 169 13 28/4 1:00 p.m. 7.68 10:15 a.m. 1/0
3 7 7 28.0 252 13 19/4 7:38 p.m. 9:00 a.m. 12.92 1/0

Every year when the Indian Premier League (initial loading) season is coming, many eyes are on the players who take the most wickets during the season, thus getting the Purple cap.

Festive offer

These players most often represent their national teams in future tournaments like the T20 World Cup. Players also add to their value for next season if they have a great campaign in the IPL.

During the 2023 season, Gujarat Titans' Mohammed Shami won the Purple cap with 28 wickets in 17 matches. He was followed by teammate Mohit Sharma with 27 scalps in 14 matches. At number 3 comes Afghanistan. Rachid Khanalso from GT with 27 wickets in 17 matches and he was followed by Mumbai Indians' Piyush Chawla who took 22 wickets in 16 matches. To complete the list of the top 5, FR's Chahal with 21 wickets in 14 matches.

Here is a list of past Purple Cap winners

IPL 2023 Purple Cap Winner: Mohammed Shami

Total wickets: 28 | Team: Gujarat Titans

IPL 2022 Purple Cap Winner: Yuzvendra Chahal

Total wickets: 27 | Team: Rajasthan Royals

IPL 2021 Purple Cap Winner: Harshal Patel

Total wickets: 32 | Team: Royal Challengers Bengaluru

IPL 2020 Purple Cap Winner: Kagiso Rabada

Total wickets: 30 | Team: Delhi Capitals

IPL 2019 Purple Cap Winner: Imran Tahir

Total wickets: 26 | Team: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2018 Purple Cap Winner: Andrew Tye

Total wickets: 24 | Team: Kings of Punjab

IPL 2017 Purple Cap Winner: Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Total wickets: 26 | Team: Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL 2016 Purple Cap Winner: Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Total wickets: 23 | Team: Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL 2015 Purple Cap Winner: Dwayne Bravo

Total wickets: 26 | Team: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2014 Purple Cap Winner: Mohit Sharma

Total wickets: 23 | Team: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2013 Purple Cap Winner: Dwayne Bravo

Total wickets: 32 | Team: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2012 Purple Cap Winner: Morne Morkel

Total wickets: 25 | Team: Delhi The daredevils

IPL 2011 Purple Cap Winner: Lasith Malinga

Total wickets: 28 | Team: Mumbai Indians

IPL 2010 Purple Cap Winner: Pragyan Ojha

Total wickets: 21 | Team: Deccan Chargers

IPL 2009 Purple Cap Winner: RP Singh

Total wickets: 23 | Team: Deccan Chargers

IPL 2008 Purple Cap Winner: Sohail Tanvir

Total wickets: 22 | Team: Rajasthan Royals

© IE Online Media Services Pvt Ltd

First published online on: 05-01-2024 at 00:05 IST

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *