IPL Orange Cap, Purple Cap Latest Update After CSK vs PBKS: Gaikwad Overtakes Kohli To Become Top Scorer, Mustafizur Ranks 2nd

Ruturaj Gaikwad overtook Virat Kohli to win the orange cap in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 on Wednesday. The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) skipper played a decisive knock at Chepauk after the hosts suffered a minor collapse against Punjab Kings. Gaikwad anchored the innings with a well-struck 48-ball 62, hitting 5 boundaries and 2 sixes. If his innings laid the foundation for CSK's fightback, then MS Dhoni's 11-ball 14 towards the end guided the hosts to 162/7 in 20 overs.

CSK vs PBKS IPL 2024 Live Updates

In response, Punjab rode on quick 40s from Jonny Bairstow and Rilee Rossouw to overtake Chennai's modest 162 for seven, which was built around skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad's solid 62.

Stay up to date with the latest news from IPL2024including the top title contenders ORANGE IPL 2024 CAP And PURPLE CAP IPL 2024. Discover the full IPL 2024 CALENDAR, IPL 2024 POINTS TABLE and the players with the MOST OF THE SIX, MOST OF THE FOUR And MOST Fifties in IPL 2024

The win took PBKS to seventh place in the points table with eight points, while CSK remained fourth with 10 points.

The 163 Super Kings defense faced several barricades as their spinners – Moeen Ali and Ravindra Jadeja – were rendered ineffective due to dew and pacer Deepak Chahar left the field with a reproach after bowling just two balls .

Here are the top 5 riders after Ruturaj won the Orange Cap

Ruturaj Gaikwad: Replacing Virat Kohli, Gaikwad is now the top scorer in IPL 2024 with 509 runs in 10 matches, with a score of 146.68. He has scored 4 fifties and hundreds in the tournament so far.


Virat Kohli: The RCB ace slipped to second place after Gaikwad's exploits in Chepauk on Wednesday evening. Kohli has 500 runs in 10 matches and a strike rate of 147.49, which is better than Gaikwad. The former RCB skipper has also reached fifty and a century.

Sai Sudharsan: The young GT is also progressing with each match. So far, he has 418 runs in the season in 10 matches and is hitting 135.71 with 2 half-centuries.

KL Rahul: The LSG skipper is the second batter after Gaikwad to miss the flight to the West for the T20 World Cup despite scoring the bulk of the runs in the IPL 2024. He has accumulated 406 runs in 10 matches with a strike rate of 142.95 with 3 halves. centuries.

Rishabh pants: The Delhi Capitals captain is his team's top scorer with 398 runs and 3 fifties in 11 matches. Rishabh Pant struck at 158.86 and averaged 44.22.

Orange Standing Cap – CSK vs PBKS

1 Ruturaj Gaikwad CSK ten 509 63.63 146.66
2 Virat Kohli RCB ten 500 71.42 147.49
3 Sai Sudharshan GT ten 418 46.44 135.71
4 KL Rahul KJV ten 406 40.6 142.95
5 Rishabh pants CC 11 398 44.22 158.56
6 Phil Salt KKR 9 392 49 180.64
7 Sanju Samson FR 9 385 77 161.08
8 Sunil Narine KKR 9 372 41.33 182.35
9 Shivam Dubey CSK ten 350 50 171.56
ten Tilak Varma MID 9 343 42.87 153.81

Top 5 bowlers in the Purple Cap Race after LSG vs MI

Jasprit Bumrah: The Mumbai Indians ace has been exceptional with the ball in a struggling team. Although MI struggled to find a place in the top 4, Bumrah still presented his class with 14 wickets in 10 matches and an economy of 6.40.

Mustafizur Rahman: The left-arm pacer has been exceptional for Chennai Super Kings. But on Wednesday, he came back empty-handed against Punjab. Although he bowled a maiden, his figures of 0/22 were not enough to put CSK at the top. He currently has 14 wickets in 9 matches.

Harshal Patel: Punjab's leading wicket-taker bowled just one run out of 12 runs conceded and did not return a single wicket. However, he managed to remain third in the table with 14 wickets in 10 matches.

Matheesha Pathirana: The Sri Lanka slinger missed Wednesday's fielding but remains the fourth highest wicket-taker of the season with 13 wickets in 6 matches.

best videos

See everything

  • The true story of 'Heeramandi', Lahore's oldest red light district and the courtesans who inspired SLB

  • Kim Kardashian is ready with blonde hair; A look back at the moment she lost 7 kg in 21 days for the gala

  • Imtiaz Ali on Ranbir Kapoor's acting genius, Amar Singh Chamkila's success, sequels and more | EXCLUSIVE

  • Rupali Ganguly's birthday party: Sumbul Tauqeer, Arjun Bijlani and Satish Shah attend the party | WATCH

  • Kareena Kapoor, Alia Bhatt and Anushka Sharma give tips on how not to make contact details look like pajamas

  • T Natarajan: The left-armer is currently SRH's leading wicket-taker this season with 13 scalps in just 7 matches and an average of 19.38.

    1 Jasprit Bumrah MID ten 14 256 6:28 p.m. 6.4
    2 Mustafizur Rahman CSK 9 14 296 22.71 9.26
    3 Harshal Patel BKS ten 14 326 24.14 10.24
    4 Matheesha Pathirana CSK 6 13 169 13 7.68
    5 Yuzuvendra Chahal FR 9 13 306 23.53 9
    6 T Natarajan SSR 7 13 252 7:38 p.m. 9
    7 Arshdeep Singh BKS ten 13 354 27.23 10.01
    8 Gerald Coetzee MID 9 13 317 24h38 10.06
    9 Mukesh Kumar CC 7 13 282 21.69 11.05
    ten Kuldeep Yadav CC 8 12 228 19 8.44

    Aakash Biswas

    A cricket enthusiast whose dreams of playing for India paved the way for a competition

    first publication: May 01, 2024, 10:01 p.m. IST

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *