New Zealand name squad for 2024 T20 World Cup

There was also no shock return for experienced top-order hitter Colin Munro, with the selectors instead opting to include young gun Rachin Ravindra – alongside fast bowler Matt Henry – as one of two players who have not yet participated in a T20 World Cup.

The Kiwis will also take young pacer Ben Sears to the United States and West Indies as a traveling reserve if needed.

New Zealand coach Gary Stead believes he has selected a well-balanced team and is confident of their performance at the month-long tournament.

“I would like to congratulate everyone named today. It’s a special moment to represent your country at a world tournament,” Stead said.

“We expect the West Indies venues to offer quite a variety of conditions and believe we have selected a team capable of adapting to these conditions.

Stead is particularly excited to see how Henry and Ravindra will be able to perform on the big stage, in what will be their first appearance at a T20 World Cup.

“Matt has worked exceptionally hard on his skills during the stages of a T20 match to get back into the side,” added Stead.

“Rachin has made every post a winner over the last 12 months and it was exciting to see him continue that trajectory over the summer in the T20 format against Australia.”

New Zealand's first match at the T20 World Cup is against Afghanistan in Guyana on June 7, with further Group C competitions to follow with co-hosts West Indies, Uganda and Papua New Guinea.

New Zealand team: Kane Williamson (centre), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee. Traveling reserve: Ben Sears

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *