Saltless KKR take on Sunrisers Hyderabad in a powerful slugfest

Ahmedabad, high-flying Kolkata Knight Riders and unpredictable Sunrisers Hyderabad, teams who have built their IPL 2024 campaign on might, will look to outdo each other in Qualifiers 1 here on Tuesday.

Saltless KKR take on Sunrisers Hyderabad in a powerful slugfest
Saltless KKR take on Sunrisers Hyderabad in a powerful slugfest

While KKR were the first team to make the IPL playoffs this year, SRH gave themselves a huge boost by inflicting a four-wicket defeat on Punjab Kings on Sunday to eventually finish second with 17 points, ahead of Rajasthan Royals.

Unlock exclusive access to the latest news on India's general elections, only on the HT app. Download now! Download now!

While the top two teams in the 70 league matches have enjoyed some rest thanks to incessant rain during their respective clashes over the past 10 days, the lack of time to participate in a high-intensity playoff match will also constitute a unique challenge.

KKR and SRH will have just one day to travel thousands of kilometers and arrive here for the first half of the playoffs, as they both participated in the final day of the championship round on Sunday.

SRH would feel like they have made great strides after a comprehensive win against PBKS and also got some recent playing time, which is not the case for KKR whose last full match was on May 11.

Shreyas Iyer's KKR had won four matches in a row before the rains took away their last two league matches and the double winners.

Ranking leaders KKR will also have to fill the huge void at the top with their second-highest run-scorer and wicketkeeper, Phil Salt, leaving camp for national duties with England ahead of the T20 World Cup.

Salt had forged a devastating partnership with Sunil Narine at the top and KKR benefited immensely from their ultra-aggressive approach with the bat, well-supported by a powerful middle-order even though skipper Iyer is yet to make a major impact.

The wiped out competition against RR in particular deprived KKR of the opportunity to give expected replacement Rahmanullah Gurbaz a chance at the top along with Narine, which would certainly have allayed some concerns.

For KKR, Nitish Rana's form adds more solidity to the middle order while a fiery Andre Russell among the finishers promises them some vital runs.

In many ways, SRH matches KKR's firepower on paper and that is what further adds to the appeal of this competition.

Both Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma achieved their runs at a strike rate above 200 while inspiring their team to rewrite a few records.

Australian left-hander Head has in many ways redefined being aggressive with the bat while still performing.

His fearlessness also brought out the best in young Indian batter Abhishek, who hit a total of 41 sixes during this IPL – 10 more than his tally of 31 in the previous six seasons.

SRH also managed to find answers to a few questions that had been lingering for a while. At No. 3, the 2016 winners have found a reliable option in Rahul Tripathi, who can both accelerate and weather storms when the bowlers are on song.

Additionally, Heinrich Klaasen regained his form after a slump in the middle of the tournament. With a crucial knock of 42 against PBKS, Klaasen signaled he had his mojo back, which only made SRH even more formidable.

In Ahmedabad, as seen in last year's World Cup final, the teams who batted second were more successful, winning four of the six completed matches, while only twice did the The team that struck first was able to defend successfully.

Plus, unlike those two teams' style of play – burying opposition under mountains of runs – this venue has only had two scores of 200 or more in 12 innings, meaning the bowlers will have their say too. say.

While KKR has a battery of spinners to support its fast bowlers led by Mitchell Starc, SRH's bowling attack led by skipper Pat Cummins has produced unified efforts time and again to leave its mark.

In their only meeting earlier this season, in late March, KKR edged SRH by four points in a high-scoring match.


Kolkata Riders: Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rinku Singh, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Sherfane Rutherford, Manish Pandey, Andre Russell, Nitish Rana, Venkatesh Iyer, Anukul Roy, Ramandeep Singh, Varun Chakravarthy, Sunil Narine, Vaibhav Arora, Chetan Sakariya, Harshit Rana, Suyash Sharma, Mitchell Starc, Dushmantha Chameera, Sakib Hussain, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Allah Ghazanfar.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Abhishek Sharma, Travis Head, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, Abdul Samad, Nitish Reddy, Shahbaz Ahmed, Pat Cummins, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, T Natarajan, Mayank Markande, Umran Malik, Anmolpreet Singh, Glenn Phillips, Rahul Tripathi , Washington Sundar, Upendra Yadav, Jhathavedh Subramanyan, Sanvir Singh, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Marco Jansen, Akash Maharaj Singh, Mayank Agarwal.

The match begins at 7:30 p.m. IST.

This article was generated from an automated news agency feed without modification to the text.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *