T20 World Cup 2026 – USA book place – India and Sri Lanka are co-hosts

A place in the Super Eight in 2024 guarantees direct qualification for the 2026 edition of the tournament

Who will compete for this trophy in 2026? We will know 12 of the 20 teams by the end of June CPI via Getty

Teams still looking for a place in the Super Eight stage of the 2024 T20 World Cup have added motivation to get the job done: a top eight finish guarantees direct qualification for the next T20 World Cup, in 2026.

The next edition will also have 20 teams like this, with 12 automatic qualifiers: the two co-hosts – India (who made the Super Eight) and Sri Lanka (who did not) – as well as the other Super Eight teams. Eight in 2024 (that's seven, excluding India), and the three highest-ranked teams outside of those in the ICC T20I rankings as of June 30, 2024. That makes 12. The remaining eight places will be decided via the course ICC Regional Qualifier.

This means that the United States – which took a vital point thanks to its elimination against Ireland at Lauderhill – have booked a place in their second successive T20 World Cup.* Scotland, if they get past Australia – even a point would be enough, but the weather forecast is clear – at Gros Islet, are still in contention. Afghanistan have also confirmed their place for 2026, while the Netherlands are in a race for the same with Bangladesh, although Bangladesh are the favorites.

However, this does not spell doom for some full members who have already been eliminated this year. Sri Lanka automatically qualify as co-hosts, while England – if they lose to Scotland – will still be selected based on ICC rankings. The same goes for Pakistan and New Zealand. Currently, England, New Zealand and Pakistan are ranked 4th, 6th and 7th respectively, a far cry from other teams who might need to rely on the rankings. Depending on how other results develop, Ireland, ranked 11th, could also qualify via the rankings.

The first of the ICC qualifying tournaments for 2026, the Sub-regional qualification Europeis currently broadcast in Italy.

*This article was updated after the United States qualified for the Super Eight.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *