West Indies co-hosts announce T20 World Cup squad

Kyle Mayers, who was part of the squad during the Australia series, was omitted as the Windies opted for a lower-order batter rather than an opener. Additionally, point guard Oshane Thomas was left out of the team.

Johnson Charles, Brandon King and Shai Hope are expected to fill the top positions. The Windies boast a plethora of big hitters and all-rounders, including Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Shimron Hetmyer, Powell, Jason Holder, Sherfane Rutherford and Romario Shepherd, giving the team plenty of options.

Akeal Hossain and Gudakesh Motie form the spin bowling department, while the pace battery will be led by vice-captain Joseph with support from Joseph.

Team: Rovman Powell (c), Alzarri Joseph, Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hossain, Shamar Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *