Why USA's five points were deducted against India in a tense T20 World Cup chase – Here's the reason detailed

T20 World Cup: India beat USA to advance to Super 8.©AFP

USA gave India a tough time in a tense T20 World Cup 2024 match on Wednesday. The United States, who had already beaten Canada and former champions Pakistan, put pressure on India from the start. On a tricky pitch in New York, India scored 110/8 in 20 overs. Then they reduced India to 39/3 with Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma And Rishabh pants back to the cabin. Although India did not lose any more wickets to reach the target in 18.2 overs, unbeaten batting Suryakumar Yadav And Shivam Dubey it wasn't easy.

India received some unexpected help as the United States lost five points and received a penalty. United States alternate captain Aaron Jones was not happy and had a long conversation with the referees. The hosts were deprived of five points due to a new penalty rule. This is because the United States went beyond 60 seconds to start a new match more than 3 times during the sets. Under the new rules, this is a penalty.

Talking about the match, Arshdeep Singh and Suryakumar Yadav played starring roles as India beat USA by seven wickets to enter the Super Eight of the T20 World Cup on Wednesday.

Suryakumar made an unbeaten 50 from 49 balls and Shivam Dube labored to 31 from 35 balls as India overhauled USA's 110/8 in 18.2 overs. India finished at 111/3.

Earlier, pacer Arshdeep was brilliant with the ball while claiming four wickets as India restricted USA to 110/8.

Nitish Kumar (27, 23b, 2×4 1×6) hit well in the company of the former New Zealand all-rounder Corey Anderson (15, 12b, 1×4, 1×6) for the USA.

For India, Arshdeep (4/9) and Hardik Pandya (2/14) were the best on the park, picking up six wickets between them.

Brief scores: USA: 110/8 in 20 overs (Steven Taylor 24 years old, Nitish Kumar 27 years old, Corey Anderson 14 years old; Arshdeep Singh 4/9, Hardik Pandya 2/14) lost to India: 111/3 in 18.2 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 50 not out, Shivam Dube 31 not out; Saurabh Netrawalkar 2/18) by 7 wickets

With PTI inputs

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *